You are here

News Item

Solar Eclipse Talk

solar eclipseThe first total solar eclipse viewable across the contiguous United States in nearly a century will fall across a wide swath of Nebraska next month.

Rigge Science Building Room 120
Date of Event: 
Mon, 08/07/2017 - 17:30

Dr Ekpenyong invited to co-chair session on Mechanosensation

Andrew Ekpenyong, PhD, Department of Physics, has been selected to co-chair the session Mechanosensation at the 61st Annual Meeting of the Biophysical Society in New Orleans, Louisiana, Feb 11-15, 2017.  The meeting brings together about 7000 attendees from all over the world who work at the interface of the life, physical, and computational sciences.

Content Destination: 

2016 Haunted Lab



From ghosts that appear when you wave a wand to a magic flying bat—there are plenty of reasons for every one of all ages to attend this free event!

When: October 27 - 29, 5 pm - 8:30 pm

Where: Creighton University, Rigge Science Building, G16

Fun for all ages!

Rigge Science Building G16
Date of Event: 
Thu, 10/27/2016 - 17:00
Contact info: 
Jacob Shearer <>

Nick Fischer wins oral presentation award

Nick Fischer (‘17, student in Dr. Baruth's research group), was awarded the "Outstanding Undergraduate Research in Biomedical Sciences Award" from the Nebraska Medical Center. This was based on his oral presentation and abstract for the Nebraska Academy of Sciences annual meeting in Lincoln, NE on April 22.

Content Destination: 

New Additions and Updates to Physics Department Programs

Several exciting updates to the physics department degree programs have been approved by the College of Arts and Sciences.

  • New M.S. in Medical Physics degree
  • New Biomedical physics track within the B.S. Major in Physics degree
  • A new course PHY 397: Research Methods (2 credits) has been created as a sophomore/junior-level requirement for all physics majors (B.S. PHY, B.S., and APA). This course replaces PHY 302 Modern Physics Lab.
  • PHY 581 & PHY 582: Advanced Lab 1 & 2 are replaced by PHY 499: Research Capstone (1 credit), which is now required of all majors (B.S. PHY, B.S., and APA).
  • MTH 350 (Applied Linear Algebra and Differential Equations) is now required in the APA major.
Content Destination: 

2016-2017 Clare Boothe Luce Scholars

Congratulations to physics department majors Carolyn Taylor and Caitlyn Ward for receiving 2016-2017 Clare Boothe Luce Scholarships!

Content Destination: 

Physics majors to give invited talks at 2015 Conference for Undergraduate Women in Physical Sciences

Senior physics major Danielle Desa, and junior physics major Christina Miller have been invited to give talks at the 2015 Conference for Undergraduate Women in Physical Sciences. The conference will be held Thursday, Oct. 15 - Saturday, Oct. 17, 2015 at the University of Nebraska at Lincoln.

Christina Miller, 12:10 p.m. on Thursday October 15th, Applying nonlinear optics to monitor changes in cellular metabolism with the onset and progression of disease


Content Destination: 

Christina Miller wins 1st place for best oral presentation

Christina Miller won 1st place for best oral presentation at the annual Nebraska IDeA Networks for Biomedical Research Excellence (INBRE) meeting in Lincoln.

Christina has worked with Dr. Mike Nichols in the Physics department for the last 2 years and her summer research project was performed in Dr. Laura Hansen's lab in the Biomedical Sciences department.  A hallmark of the INBRE program is collaborative projects between undergraduate faculty members in the College of Arts & Sciences and graduate faculty members within the state of Nebraska.

For more information please see the Creighton news article.

Congratulations Christina!

Content Destination: 

Dr. Wrubel honored with Outstanding Teacher in Graduate Education Award

At the Creighton University Graduate School Hooding Ceremony, Dr. Jonathan Wrubel was honored with the innaugural "Outstanding Teacher in Graduate Education Award." The award was presented by M.S. student Nathan Holman who did his research in the Laser-Cooled Atoms Group led by Dr. Wrubel. Dr. Wrubel was nominated for his ability to inspire students, taking project-based learning and using it to pull together overarching concepts in his courses. Dr. Wrubel values not only the scientific education of his students, but also pursues core Jesuit values in his teaching.

Content Destination: 

2015 Physics Field Day Results

The 2015 Physics Field Day results are now available. Thanks to all the teams for making this event a great success, and congratulations to Duchesne Academy on earning 1st place!

1st Place: Team Superconductors (Duchesne Academy)

2nd Place: Team Graphene (Spalding Academy)

3rd Place: Tean LEDs (Mount Michael)

Content Destination: 


Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer