You are here

News Item

Dr. Wrubel honored with Outstanding Teacher in Graduate Education Award

At the Creighton University Graduate School Hooding Ceremony, Dr. Jonathan Wrubel was honored with the innaugural "Outstanding Teacher in Graduate Education Award." The award was presented by M.S. student Nathan Holman who did his research in the Laser-Cooled Atoms Group led by Dr. Wrubel. Dr. Wrubel was nominated for his ability to inspire students, taking project-based learning and using it to pull together overarching concepts in his courses. Dr. Wrubel values not only the scientific education of his students, but also pursues core Jesuit values in his teaching.

Content Destination: 

2015 Physics Field Day Results

The 2015 Physics Field Day results are now available. Thanks to all the teams for making this event a great success, and congratulations to Duchesne Academy on earning 1st place!

1st Place: Team Superconductors (Duchesne Academy)

2nd Place: Team Graphene (Spalding Academy)

3rd Place: Tean LEDs (Mount Michael)

Content Destination: 

Hakan Armagan receives Fulbright Distinguished Teacher Award

Hakan Armağan (M.S. Physics, Creighton University, 2001) has been awarded a Fulbright Distinguished Teacher Award from the U.S. Department of State. As a part of that award he is working in Victoria, New Zealand at the Antarctic Research Centre studying renewable energy policies and environmental sustainability. The ARC has a full article about his work. Hakan teaches Energy and Nuclear Science and Physics at Burke High School here in Omaha. Congratulations Hakan!

Content Destination: 

Physics Club Recognized with Outstanding Chapter Award

The Creighton University physics club (Society of Physics Students) has been recognized with the 2014 Oustanding Chapter Award for Zone 11 from the American Institute of Physics. This is the second year in a row that our physics chapter has been recognized for its accomplishments.

Congratulations to the physics club members and especially to the hard work of all the officers!

Content Destination: 

Dr. Ekpenyong publishes in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences

Infectious diseases, in which pathogens invade and colonize host cells, are responsible for one third of all mortality worldwide.  Host cells use special proteins (immunoproteins) and other molecules to fight viral and bacterial invaders.  The mechanisms by which immunoproteins enable cells to reduce bacterial loads and survive infections remained unclear until some physicists and biologists teamed up to unravel the mystery. They found that cells, amazingly, alter their physical properties (precisely, their stiffness) in a manner that reduces bacterial burden.

Content Destination: 

CU Physics Graduate student is one of 11 selected for summer research in Italy

Physics graduate student Barak Gruberg was one of 11 students selected for an exchange program high energy nuclear physics research in Italy this summer. He will be working in Turin. This opportunity is jointly funded by the US Department of Energy and the Istituto Nazionale de Fisica Nucleare (INFN).

Our SPS chapter rocks!

Our Chapter of the Society of Physics Students has been designated honorable mention and named a

2012-2013 Distinguished SPS Chapter

by the Society of Physics Students (, an organization of the American Institute of Physics. This is an outstanding recognition of the leadership and activities of the Physics Club members during the 2012-2013 year, together with a strong report put together by the 2013-2014 Physics Club officers.

Content Destination: 

Dr. Gintaras Duda named Professor of the Year!

"The U.S. Professors of the Year awards program celebrates outstanding instructors across the country. Sponsored by CASE and the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching, it is the only national program to recognize excellence in undergraduate education."

Content Destination: 

Matt Armbruster gets First place award at the student programming competition at the XSEDE13 Conference

Matt Armbruster was awarded FIRST place at the student programming competition that took place at the 2013 XSEDE conference in San Diego, California. This was a very exciting moment and a recognition of Matt's strong programming skills. Matt has been doing research with the Computational Molecular Biophysics for two years and will be finishing his master's studies by May 2014. If you see Matt around, congratulate him for his achievement!

Content Destination: 


Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer