You are here

News Item

Matt Armbruster semi-finalist in McKnight prize

I am pleased to announce that Matt Armbruster, physics senior, was recognized as semi-finalist in the Frank and Sara McKnight Prize 2011 for his accomplishment in biophysics and quantitative biology research. Want to know what he did? Next time you see Matt, stop him and ask him to show you the application he developed to calculate normal mode analysis of proteins!

Content Destination: 

Dr. Seger wins APS award for Mentoring Undergraduate Researchers

Janet Seger, Professor and Chair of the Department of Physics in the College of Arts and Sciences at Creighton University was recently awarded the 2011 American Physics Society Award for Faculty Working with Undergraduate Researchers. This award is given annually to a physicist whose research in an undergraduate setting has achieved wide recognition and contributed significantly to physics and who has contributed substantially to the professional development of undergraduate physics students.

Content Destination: 

CU Physics Major receives SPS Award

Anya Burkart receieved the 2010 Outstanding Student Award for Undergraduate Research from the Society of Physics Students (SPS). Anya will present her research on optical force measurements with the optical stretcher, and represent the U.S. SPS at the 2010 International Conference of Physics Students in August in Austria.

The award also includes $500 the Creighton University SPS chapter.


Physics Major Anya Burkart receives 2010 Goldwater Scholarship

Anya Burkart (Physics and German double major) was one of two Creighton University students to receive a prestigious Goldwater Scholarship in 2010. For 2009-2010, 278 fellowships were awarded to sophomores and juniors selected from more than 1100 applications across the nation. Anya is actively involved in Biophysical Optics Research Group with Dr. Michael Nichols, developing light-force tools for single-cell biomechanical assays.

Congratulations Field Day Champions!

This year 10 teams fielded from Gross Catholic, Papillion, Mount Michael and Omaha Central.  Teams competed in seven events: Optical Slalom, Bridge Building, Chalk Talk (Lasers), Quiz Bowl, Student Powered Water Heater,  MouseTrap Car Building, and the Mystery Teacher event (The complete program can be found here).


Field Day Champions

This year we had a great turn out with 15 teams fielded from Gross Catholic, Papillion, Abraham Lincoln, Mount Michael, St. Albert, Central Academy and Burke High School.  Teams competed in seven events: Death Star Laser Aiming, Boat Building, Chalk Talk (Space physics portrayed in film), Quiz Bowl, Circuit Building, and Toothpick Bridge Building (The complete program can be found here.


Physics Department Newsletters

The following issues are available in PDF format:

Content Destination: 

Prototype testing of solar arrays

The Physics Department has the opportunity to assist in the planning and prototype testing for solar cell arrays on the Creighton campus. Any student who would be interested in becoming part of this effort should contact Dr. Cherney this week. A commitment of at least 5 hours per week would be required. In the process students can earn Independent Study (PHY 495) credit.

Content Destination: 

Sandra Behncke Selected as a NASA Year of Astronomy Student Ambassador

Congratulations to Senior Physics Major Sandra Behncke who has been named the NASA International Year of Astronomy Student Ambassador for Nebraska. 2009 is the International Year of Astronomy, and NASA has selected ambasadors to actively participate in, and help coordinate their own outreach programs within the local community and beyond.

Content Destination: 

Smith and Brewer Tie for Alumni Award Scholarship!

Congratulations to Senior Physics Majors Joseph Brewer and Timothy Smith for their performance on the Modern Physics portion of the Graduate Comprehensive Exam. This exam is held annually and all senior physics majors are eligible to compete for the $1000 award. For 2008, Tim and Joseph tied for the best score and will split the prize.  The award was announced at a special reception featuring a large cake on Thursday afternoon.  Pictures to follow....

Content Destination: 


Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer